Oct. 7th, 2005

Friday Five

Oct. 7th, 2005 12:01 am
tarotgal: (Default)
This week's installment of [livejournal.com profile] thefridayfive... (OMG, I actually remembered)

1. How long have you had your LiveJournal/blog?
Urm... *checks* I've had this one for roughly 2 years, 7 months and 23 days. But this is my third online journal (second LJ).

2. What do you consider to be the main purpose of your LiveJournal/blog?
Annoying people with my pointless ramblings? ;-) No, really, I suppose it's just to share a bunch of fannish and sneezing-related thoughts and fics with people who actually read/like the same! Though lots of my RL bleeds through as well.

3. If you could change something about your personal blogging style, what would it be?
Less bitching. Sure it's good therapy to rant (and as I don't have health insurance this is certainly more cost effective than a therapist) but y'all shouldn't have to read it as though I were some angsty, complaining teen or something :-)

4. What are your criteria for adding someone to your friends list/blog roll?
On my other blogs, my criteria is if I like the content of their journals (similar interests, fics/art I like). On this one, however, it's mostly others who share my fetish. If someone adds me as a friend, I'll probably add right back unless I really don't know the person at ALL and/or their journal is blank/full of things I'm not interested in.

5. Name one thing that you've never before written about in your LJ/blog.
OMG what an interesting question! *thinks hard* I don't really go into a lot of RL personal specifics (though more than I probably SHOULD but my paranoia has slipped due to convenience and laziness). And I don't talk nearly as much about current events/news and politics as I do in RL. I tend to think of this blog as something that distracts me from the Hell that's the country/world at the moment as it slowly falls apart. I'll post about things once in a while, but I tend to like to keep this journal as a refuge, distraction, and comfort. For example, the missing VCU girl whose body was identified today. Hits WAY too close to home, that, and I've been following that closely, especially as her family lives about 20 minutes from my house. But I've never mentioned it until now on my LJ.

Progress

Oct. 7th, 2005 04:06 am
tarotgal: (Bad boy Spike)
Worked on:
  • Wrote a paragraph or so in the Wolfcrawler 'Anxious' fic. It's about half done now at 3 pages.
  • Started my fic for 'Restless' which is a PotC fic and another idea I had down on my long list of plot bunnies. That idea was only on my list from late August, though. Still, it fits the mood well so I'm happy to have an excuse to write it.
  • Wrote a tad more in rough form on the Spander fic :-)



On a completely different note... I sat and stared at the NaNoWriMo website for 20 minutes today, thinking. I just have no confidence in my ability to write an entire novel in just a month. Considering all my attempts at novels have been going on for YEARS and still not close to being done... I just don't know. There's that romance novel idea I thought about writing but never did, and that would be a great excuse to try it. But I don't know if I'm willing to give up other writing exploits for an entire month. In November I hope to be working on gift fics for the holidays and possibly taking a Praxis II exam. I don't know how much time I'll have to actually write. After two months of successful fic-a-days under my belt, I feel encouraged... but not very confident. I've never thought I'd enjoy it that much, what with all the rush, so I've never been pulled to do it before. But maybe this time I'll give it a try. No pressure if I get nowhere with it, right? Ugh. I don't know. I'm not sure I'll enjoy it either way, given the stress and all my WIP's at the moment that I WOULD enjoy working on.

Grrr. I'm very undecided. But, then again, I'm the worst decision maker in the WORLD so there's no big surprise in my being undecided at the moment, right?
tarotgal: (Amused- Shane)
I've failed to capture on my LJ have VERY much I look forward to Prison Break every week. More than any other show, I adore Prison Break. I think it's clever in its layers of mystery and the characters are pretty damn interesting. Not to mention Wentworth and Dominic are still two of my favorite actors who don't get enough recognition. And last week I practically squeed myself to death when they rushed over to each other and shared that really long, caring hug. SO sweet.

So imagine my amusement this morning when I woke up to a fresh copy of the Washington Blade in my e-mail box and there was a lovely article talking about Prison Break as well as some of the other new shows:
“Prison Break” (Mondays at 9 p.m.) is like gay soft-core porn.
MmmmmHmmmm. *BIG EVIL GRIN* I like muchly.

I should really watch Oz, shouldn't I? It's one of those "This is so wrong but guuhhh look at the bad boys in uniforms..." But I totally agree with them about PB. Except that I find it pretty damn intriguing on a whole. And it's certainly better written than most shows out there.

http://www.washblade.com/2005/10-7/arts/television/drool.cfm

Thoughts

Oct. 7th, 2005 12:03 pm
tarotgal: (Thinking Angel)
So here's something I've been actually pondering for the last few days (ever since they mentioned it on my favorite radio station, since one of the morning show guys will be there): The Maryland Renaissance Festival (http://www.rennfest.com/) is having a singles day tomorrow (Saturday). I've been to the festival once, briefly, about 7 years ago (Gah! I feel old!). The visit was cut short as I had to get back to DC in time for an AIDS Walk Volunteer orientation. I've always wanted to go again.

Okay. So it sounds great and I'm an uber geek and LOVE Ren fests and all. But in reality I seriously can't see myself going alone to this thing. It's one thing to wander about alone at a Scottish Fair, and it's a whole other to attend a day specifically for meeting & dating.

Though this "quiet courting" thing looks very amusing.

Gods, though. There's no way I'd have the courage to go alone to this thing tomorrow. I don't know why I've been seriously considering it the last few days. I must be mental! There's no way. I wouldn't know what to do with myself all day.

Maybe I'll have to try that online geek dating service for my area. My mother clipped an article out of the newspaper about that. I'm afraid my gaming abilities and computer skills are too crappy to be interesting, though.

NOT that I'm in a place right now where I want to be dating or anything. It's just all these opportunities keep presenting themselves to me and for some reason I'm actually *considering* them for a change.

There's absolutely no point to this post. Just thought I'd ramble about my sad, pathetic, nonexistant dating life and how much of a freak I am :-) Maybe it's because I had to work late yesterday and didn't go to the AIDS Walk party last night. *shrug*

About

Contents of this journal include: sneeze fetish references and lots of hurt/comfort, short fics and/or WIPS, everything from gen and het to slash and femslash, everything from G to NC-17, random ramblings about my life and fandom obsessions.

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314 151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags