tarotgal: (Pissed Off)
[personal profile] tarotgal
I've been taking photoshop classes (Photoshop II, actually) these last few days (Wed-Fri) and commuting on the Metro. Kind og expensive with parking, but better than getting lost. The class has been great- I'm learning a LOT and already I'm planning to redo all the conference photos I worked on Monday and Tuesday :-)

So I got home from the class today to find an e-mail from one of the places I work for (I run their website). The e-mail went something like this "We're forming a new website committee which is comprised of X, Y, Z" (none of which were my name). And then, addressed specifically to me, "X will be contacting you for information about the site includingtechnical data so we can move it to him". Hah. Call me crazy, but that sounds exactly like I'm now out of a job. How freaking unsuspected and unprofessional is that? To, like, fire someone by moving all of their job duties to someone else and then not saying anything about it to the person? Okay, so it's true I haven't been able to make any of the company meetings (which are all an hour out of town and during the workday) but you just don't DO that to your webmaster of more than a year, you know? Suddenly forming a committee because the content needs revising- YES, totally, I can see that. But not including your webmaster in that committee and then transferring her duties to someone else? FUCK THAT! LOL I mind, of course I mind. But considering this is the place which STILL hasn't supplied me with a W2 from last year and which took 8 months to reimburse me for $40 and which very rarely replies to my e-mails... I can't say that they're at the height of professionalism when it comes to business. Still... this was a sudden shock to come home to today, you know?

On another note... I haven't written anything in 2 days now. I'm totally blocked. I just don't feel like writing... which is so rare and which HURTS. I mean, it seriously makes me ill to sit here and not be able to write. I'm constantly writing in my head- so it feels awful when that voice is suddenly silent- like someone cut off an arm or something. And feeling ill and hurt and stressed about not writing makes it even harder to get in the mood to break through writers' block! So basically, I'm just depressed. And losing a job today probably didn't help. *sigh*

On a happy note... I got an Obi/Qui slash Zine in the mail today. It's the first zine I've ever bought... It's "Beyond the Pale" by Alex. Nummy h/c, bdsm, angst, fic and art *sigh* Plus, the Capitals are actually WINNING a game at the moment! They've won 1 of their last 13. My poor boys *sigh* But our goalie is back after being injured, so yay for that. *loves our sprawling goalie*

Date: 2007-03-16 03:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] quietcontrary.livejournal.com
hey tg, that sucks a lot ((((((((TG)))))))))

About the termination of your employment, though. I'd suggest getting legal advice. I work for a firm that does employment law and I know under Australian law at least, that's completely illegal and they'd have to reinstate you and/or pay you quite a large sum of money if they tried to do that to you. I highly suspect something similar exists in the US.

At work, we generally act for the employer. A lot of them COUNT on the fact that employees are ignorant about the law, too broke to afford a lawyer, too passive to get a lawyer. That's when they can screw their workers over. PLEASE don't let this happen to you! <3 Seriously. You have rights when it comes to employment!

I googled some employment law places around the VA area:
http://www.michaeljhoare.com/
http://www.reedkimble.com/
http://www.belllaw.com/CM/FSDP/PracticePage/Employment-Employee/Employment-Law-Employee.asp
http://www.rosenblumllc.com/
http://www.worklaws.com/

They're just a few. I don't know Virginia very well so maybe some are closer or further away than others.

If your company continues to be unreasonable, PLEASE consider getting advice. Usually the first consultation is free (to see whether they can help you, etc). In the vast majority of cases, wrongful termination cases are sorted out through letters/negotiations. You don't have much to lose just by making an appointment with a lawyer but you could be entitled to either your job back or a few months worth of pay or a redundancy package.

(((((TG))))) What a shitty thing for your company to do to you! *HUGS* Please let me know if I can help in any way. As I said, I work in employment law but it's the Australian jurisdiction. I can still probably answer general questions (and I will be honest and tell you I have no idea when I don't know something!) or I can ask general questions of some US lawyers that I know (I don't think they work in employment law but they probably have a basic knowledge).

Good luck tg! Please don't hesitate to email me or anything :) Even if it's just to talk on a completely non-legal basis!

Date: 2007-03-16 03:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] quietcontrary.livejournal.com
Just some more links :)

http://oblonemp.poweradvocates.com/employees.html
http://www.rhervin.com/EmploymentLaw.shtml
http://www.ocmilaw.com/CM/FSDP/PracticeCenter/Employment-Employee/Wrongful-Termination.asp
http://www.charlestonwvlaw.com/Employment.shtml

Hehe. Sorry. I don't mean to bombard you with links! But I just wanted to let you know that there's lots of places out there that you can get help.

Good luck, tg! <3

About

Contents of this journal include: sneeze fetish references and lots of hurt/comfort, short fics and/or WIPS, everything from gen and het to slash and femslash, everything from G to NC-17, random ramblings about my life and fandom obsessions.

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314 151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags