tarotgal: (Psych- Skittles)
[personal profile] tarotgal
I saw Prince Caspian today. Holy bejezus that was a movie!

There were a few tiny little details that, while watching, I was like "WHAT?!" but most of those seem to have faded by now. Naturally I knew there would be some changes from the book, and it's never been my favorite book so I don't really mind, oh, an ENTIRE subplot or two thrown in there to shake things up a bit. The only things I didn't really like were the tiny little things- I didn't really have a problem with the big stuff other people might take issue with (especially since I don't especially adore Susan because of her future). On the whole I fucking LOVED the movie. Made me cry twice (my shirt was wet around the collar at the end). Made me laugh out loud a few times. And I joined in with the rest of the audience and clapped at the end :-)

Points I want to make- mostly general. No real spoilers.

1. I really like these kids. I wasn't sure I loved them this much after the first movie (which I re-watched last night & this morning) but the family dynamics really bring something special to it. Watching their love for Narnia really brings it back in me and makes me a kid again, wishing I could be swept away there as well.

2. Reep was ALL KINDS OF AWESOME! I hadn't heard anything about him, so a few days back I Wikipedia'd him and my coworker and I were excited to see Eddie Izzard did his voice. I was a little skeptical of how that might go, considering the actor I grew up with who played him was playing a dwarf in the movie (Warwick Davis), but the result was wonderful! Loved him beyond words.

3. Fighting Fauns. Just... just gah. Oh my gods. How wrong is it of me to find them hot? Fauns have never done anything for me. Pan? Eh, nothing. But these guys... the way they jumped and fought and oh my gods! I'm totally in love. heehee. Seriously worth the price of admission for that.

4. I liked Caspian, don't get me wrong. For the script, I thought he was a great actor/choice. But I thought he was way too old when I saw who was cast and I've got to say I still think so after sitting through the movie. I understand many of the script/plot reasons for aging him, and it'll make Dawn Treader a heck of a lot easier to film, too (which is more of a concern for me since that's my favorite book). But I still would have preferred his being younger because it makes him look like an idiot to be 20-something and totally clueless in the beginning IMHO

5. Gorgeous. Simply gorgeous. I really like what they did with a lot of the canon parts. It's funny how in both movies they've had to add in whole, huge sequences. I'm so used to adaptations taking things out. But I didn't mind most of the additions because it was like an interpretation of the movie. And they were done in the spirit of the story, fitting the tone and all. They kept most of my favorite parts so I'm happy about that (mmmm... hurt boys...) and it was just a gorgeous movie with everything I could have wanted.

Go see it if you haven't already! Ugh. What happened to my Narnia icons? Must find one...

Date: 2008-05-18 03:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] symphonyflute.livejournal.com
I saw the midnight showing and some people came with shirts if you got a trivia question right. One question was "what are the names of the four children?" I got it right and got a shirt that goes down to my knees. Yay! And one was "what do they call humans?" or something along those lines, and I was like "Muggles!" after no one answered. It was a good night, I'm not usually clever.

Great movie. I remember one part distinctly had me squee-ing. And Peter got hot, but I didn't like him as much as I did in the first.

And my friend loves slash, so when there was a scene with Peter and Caspian in the shot, I was like "Peter/Caspian slash" and she couldn't get it out of her head for the rest of the night.

Date: 2008-05-18 01:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladykorana.livejournal.com
Oh, now you've got me worried about Susan. I always self-identified with her the most (which is probably why the entire book series ended up pissing me off so much at the end), but if they're going to be starting the downslide this soon, I may just skip this altogether. *sigh*


edited for spelling.
Edited Date: 2008-05-18 01:09 pm (UTC)

About

Contents of this journal include: sneeze fetish references and lots of hurt/comfort, short fics and/or WIPS, everything from gen and het to slash and femslash, everything from G to NC-17, random ramblings about my life and fandom obsessions.

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314 151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags