tarotgal: (Legolas/Gimli)
[personal profile] tarotgal
Just got in from seeing the world premier of Return of the King with a live orchestra & choir. It was amazing, naturally. Even better than Fellowship & The Two Towers, though that might have been due in part to the fact that I had a seat in dead center this year and a nice warm fleece pullover to keep me warm. They also adjusted the sound system a little so the music & singing was louder than the dialogue/sound effects on screen at times, which was a great way to remind us that OMG this freakin amazing music was being performed LIVE in front of us. There were times I just watched the orchestra and the singers, in fact. Very well done. And the picnic with the DC Ringers (the Fellowship of the Beltway) beforehand is always a nice little added bonus, though this year we were split up into two locations so we had to go back and forth. But when we got to the part in the movie where Samwise asks Frodo if he remembered the taste of strawberries, I could say to myself that I did because T had brought a bunch of nummy strawberries to share :-)

Tomorrow is the monthly write-in for my local writing group. I haven't been able to get to one in ages, so I'm excited about that. I want to work on Lord of the Rings fic but I promised myself that I had to write original fic at write-ins so I'll have something to workshop eventually :-) I shared one of my faerie stories at the last roundtable and I feel better about it, even though my overall plot still kind of sucks (it's kind of the plot to Batteries Not Included... or Fern Gully, if Fern Gully were a city). But I want to work on a Strokes story quite badly. I've had it in my head for years now but it's set about 3 or 4 years after the last stories in the series that I've written, and I wanted to fill in the gap a little before working on this one. But it's bugging me so I'm just going to go ahead and write the darn thing now. But... after tonight... I really want to write that Legolas/Gimli fic for [livejournal.com profile] hc_bingo (though with so much sneezing in it, that's not something I could write in public anyway, so it's just as well).

And I'm looking forward to next weekend--"camping" trip with the DADA group!

It's been a busy and emotional several weeks, what with planning the BookCrossing convention and my friend's daughter dying. Have I mentioned her? Not sure I have here. It was bad. I didn't feel like talking about it for a while because it just broke my heart over and over again to even think about, let alone say. But suffice it to say, the first week of September royally sucked. There's really nothing worse than losing such a sweet, vibrant, caring young girl.

Date: 2010-09-13 04:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladykorana.livejournal.com
What a coincidence. As I read your post, the end credits from ROTK are playing right now on my TV. TNT played all 3 LOTR movies back to back today, though they were the regular theatrical versions. The extended editions are so much better, it's kinda painful to watch the theatrical now and know what you're missing. Still, I don't think I've sat down and watched these since I got into the Whoniverse, so it was kinda nice to go back. (I was also reading a bit of SG-1 fic with Daniel-whumping at the same time, so double flashback, actually!)

Made it through the end of ROTK without crying this time too. It no longer seems so sad and depressing anymore, not after watching TW: Children of Earth. I could have done without that kind of lesson in perspective though.

On the plus side, every scene Legolas is in feels slashy once more. *G* And I feel reaffirmed in my decision to name my cat Eowyn. *hugs her feisty Shield-kitty*

Date: 2010-09-13 04:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladykorana.livejournal.com
Yeah, I know what you mean about the beautiful moments in these movies. The very first time I watched ROTK, I was so blown away and too much in awe to cry. The second time in the theater (out of 10 total times for each movie, LOL), I spent the entire last 15 minutes or so weeping for the sheer beauty of it. The third time, I wept from the Coronation on, because that was the last time they were all together as a Fellowship, and I felt like I was personally saying goodbye to a lot of good friends too.

That's what really gets me...the separation of friends. But again, they all lived to a ripe old age, so it no longer seems anywhere near as bad to me now, post COE. It also helps when your fav. character is the immortal one...

Date: 2010-09-13 04:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladykorana.livejournal.com
Oh, yeah. I very much disliked Farscape Season 4 too, so you're not alone in that. I rarely rewatch anything not in season 1 or 2, actually. And I never, ever, get tired of the body swap episode.

Hmm, I think I need a Farscape Icon. Aeryn is my girl-crush...and Crichton is totally my 'type' in terms of guy looks. Not quite as much as Daniel Jackson, but pretty darn close.

About

Contents of this journal include: sneeze fetish references and lots of hurt/comfort, short fics and/or WIPS, everything from gen and het to slash and femslash, everything from G to NC-17, random ramblings about my life and fandom obsessions.

June 2023

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314 151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags